EIT Wild Card

Wild Card contestants pitch at end of training and mentoring session

EIT Health will support the best ideas

Four EIT Health Wild Card teams pitched their ideas for healthcare innovation on 17-18 July 2018 in Munich, in the culmination of a nine-week training designed to help them validate their business models. A panel of experts will choose which of these ideas will earn EIT Health support.

The finalists have been working with business experts on validating their ideas and practising their pitching skills, through the Wild Card and CIMIT CRAASH programme. The teams also looked at skills gaps and identified with their mentors the particular needs required to continue progressing with their ideas. As a result, some teams have acquired new members with dedicated skill sets and experience that will help ensure their projects’ success.

The 17 and 18 July pitching sessions gave teams a last opportunity to work with their business mentors and give their final pitches to the judging panel – with the chance of winning this year’s Wild Card and receiving support for their ideas for the next two years.

With four exciting projects remaining in the programme, the judging panel will have a tough decision on which show the greatest potential to transform smart health and antibiotic resistance in Europe.

Our esteemed panel includes: John Collins (CIMIT), Derek Young (i360 Medical), Kerry Ritz (Great River Ventures), Markus Wilhelms (usMIMA & Mowoot), and EIT Health’s CEO Jan-Philipp Beck, Director of Business Creation Kurt Höller, Director of Innovation Jorge Fernández García and Managing Director CLC Germany Katharina Ladewig.

Speaking at the event, Jan-Philipp Beck commented “We started Wild Card with really high ambitions to create something new, attract the brightest talents with great ideas and support them in addressing major healthcare challenges in Europe.”

“This first year went really well and has been a fantastic experience for us all. We are looking forward to hearing the judging panel’s final deliberations and announcing our first ever Wild Card winners soon.”

Our final teams are:

  • Predicare
  • ABTrace
  • DX-Labtrack
  • i-Ophthalmology